Scams Talk Forum Index
Author Message

Home  <  Shopping Scams  ~  ???used Car Scam On Autotrader???

Guest
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 2:46 am Reply with quote
My tip:

Sell to only people in the US and who speak English correctly.

99% of the time, you will find that people who speak English as if it's not their first language are defenitely scammers.

Not to be racist, but that's just been proven over and over.

Guest
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:08 am Reply with quote
Ever since i saw this ad on autotrader i thought it was too good to be true. This sounds like the letters i've read on this site, think it's a scam???


Hello there,

First of all I want to thank you for contact me and
your interest in my car.My husband was recently
promoted so we had to move in London, United Kingdom.
We brought the car with us,but I can't drive it here
because cars from here are with the steering wheel on
right ,and this it have the steering wheel on left so
for me this car is useless. The car is bought from US
and is made for US market.The price I want to obtain
for it is $3,000.The car is like new, completely
working,low miles, with 3 years EXTENDED,
INTERNATIONAL and TRANSFERABLE warranty, which will be
honored at any dealer in your country. It is US model
with US specs and passed the US test emissions. All
the manuals and the original documentation are written
in eight languages.The car will be deliver from
London,United Kingdom and I will take care of all
shipping and insurance charges. I made some research
and the best and fastest way I can ship with is using
Lufthansa air cargo insured and it takes between 3-5
days to arrive at your door.You won't have to pay for
customs or any additional taxes when it will arrive in
your country.I would like to use BidPay for this deal
because it is a large purchase and I want a smooth
transaction. Also you will have 5 days to see it, test
it and inspect it, and if you will not keep it, they
will refund you all your money.If you agree with these
, please reply me and I will be more than glad to
provide you with further information how to purchase
the car asap.
Looking forward your email and your Final Decision
about this car.Mail me asap if you are still very very
interested in my car because now i have more buyers
still interested in my car.

Regards

http://autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.jsp?c...rdist=98#vdptop


Guest
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:44 am Reply with quote
Just got his email address and his "so called name" Jhon Mcrin

Email - jhon_mcrin@inbox.com

His letter looks almost identical as all the others

and his little unique trademark "regards"

Guest
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 2:57 am Reply with quote
It's a scam, what they do is send you a counterfeit confimation supposedly from Bidpay when it's not. You can go to the Bidpay website and ask them to verify your order number, more than likely they'll say it's an invalid transaction number, by then if you've sent the money, it's a lost deal Bidpay can't do anything about it cause they never had anything to do with it in the first place.

My advise, is to investigate as much as you can , I did and I found my proof.!!

Guest
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:51 pm Reply with quote
Hey I had something similar to that on auto trader but the guy does not require me to send money first, I don't have to send it till i get the car. Is this a scam or not it seems to be but maybe its legit he speaks pretty good english.


The Email:

Hello ,

I am glad you are interested in my car.I have in my
possession the clean title of it and all the papers
that you will need to register the item in you US .The
car has 51810 miles .The car has manual
transmision.The car comply with both US Environmental
Protection Agency requirements concerning exhaust
emissions, and the safety requirements of US
Department of Transportation.My name is Chris and i am
living in London, United Kingdom.
The car is here in a perfect cosmetic and engine
conditions,no leaks of any kind and it is ready for
work now .The car is good shape,no damage,no scratches
or dents,no hidden defects,kept in my own garage. The
price I hope to obtain with shipping/handling included
for the car is $5100 American Dollars. I know that is
a lower price but the reason i`m selling the car so
cheap is that i just got married and i need the money
to buy a house for me, my wife and little Billy , our
5 month kid .

Before shipping takes place you have to make a deposit
for the entire amount after you will receive the
tracking # of the shipment. The idea is that I don't
require the payment first,before i will confirm that i
have made the delivery by sending you the tracking #
of the shipment, only a payment proof ,to see that you
have the money and you intend to buy it.

I will provide you 15 days money back guarantee. That
means that within 15 working days if you decide that
you don't want to keep it for any reason, you'll ship
it back to me ( on my charge) and you'll get the full
amount back.

If you agree with these ,let me know and i will
be more than glad to start to complete the transaction
with you.
I am waiting your email,

Best Regards,

Chris

Please help me.

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Post new topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum