Scams Talk Forum Index
Author Message

Home  <  Shopping Scams  ~  Yahoo Auto

Guest
Posted: Tue Sep 06, 2005 3:23 am Reply with quote
To clarify: Yahoo Auto Web site did all they said they would do. I didn't sell my car, but that's not Yahoo's fault. I have no complaints about Yahoo Auto.

However, it is a scammer's play gorund--beware. Below is the latest twist on transfer of funds to purchase a car---don't fall for it.

Greetings , (from: wagnercarmall@yahoo.com)

Thanks for your mail and update.

I am very happy to tell you that we have concluded
with our client and he has instructed me to carry on
with the transaction. He said that I should inform you
that the payment will get to you in cash of ($4,750
usd) This amount will get to you through
WELLSFARGOBANK which is my client bank.


Due to company policy, the cash amount of ($4,750
usd )will be deposited into your account at
WELLSFARGOBANK after opening the account either ONLINE or nearest branch in your district and you are
expected to deduct the cost of your VEHICLE($2,750)
when the payment gets to you and refund balance
($2,000) to my customer's Agent VIA MONEYGRAM
INTERNATIONAL MONEY TRANSFER WESTERN UNION MONEY
TRANSFER, for the agent to be able to offset shipping
/pickup charges ,contracting of the Pick up Agent,
procure a temporary registration permit tag ,taxes,
commission charges and any other handling bills.

After payment has reached you and balance sent back to
his agent - the agent will contact the PICKUP
AGENT-who will come for the pick up of the vehicle to
be shipped to my client. My client is making necessary
arrangement with some of the agent(s) and will provide
me with the pickup/test driver agent information as
soon as he decides whom to use as an Agent for the
pickup of the Vehicle.

NOTE: MY CLIENT ADVISED THAT YOU ARE EXPECTED TO
DEDUCT THE TRANSFER CHARGES FROM THE REMAINING BALANCE
[$ 2,000 USD] YOU ARE TO SEND TO THE AGENT VIA MONEY
GRAM INTERNATIONAL MONEY TRANSFER.

Please confirm this whole arrangement and provide the
details below for cash payment into your account at
WELLSFARGOBANK in your district or you go to WELLSFARGO.COM FOR ONLINE ACCOUNT OPENING.

PAYMENT INFORMATION:

1. NAME USED IN OPENING THE ACCOUNT.........

2. ACCOUNT NUMBER AT WELLSFARGOBANK..........

3. PHONE NUMBER (S).................
4. CITY/AREA ZIP CODE..........
5. CITY/DISTRICT...........
Regards

MR DUNCAN WAGNER.
67 St Mary’s Mansions
Maida Avenue
Little Venice
W2 1SY England
+447031919969


Guest
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 2:00 am Reply with quote
Just an FYI, I have also received an e-mail regarding the car that I am selling on Yahoo Autos, my e-mail is from a Martin Bank but he shares the same address as this Duncan Wagner. He is apparently a procurement agent from England who's client is buying a car for a cousin in Canada that just got married. Is this just a scam for money? Do they actually want the car? How should I handle this? Please, someone tell me. . . thanks (heatherpere1998@yahoo.com)

Guest
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 7:01 am Reply with quote
Shauna there is no doubt in my mind now, here is a copy of what I got from him:

Greetings
Thanks for your response.I am a procurement agent
based in England and my client whom i am representing
is also in England. My client informed me that he is
buying the car to present as a gift to the cousin who
recently married in Canada . This means that the car
will be shipped to Canada.
THE PRICE IS FIRM AT $7,200 USD..CONFIRM
Attach at least three recent pics( include the
interior) of the vehicle so that i will foward it to
my client for evaluation,The pics will make my
discussion with the buyer easier and faster.
Hope all the documents are complete...?
Any accident history......?
Are you the first owner of the vehicle.....?
Why do you want to sell the vehicle....?
My client is responsible for my commission,shipping
and any handling bills.
Looking foward to hearing from you soon so that we can
proceed with the transaction.
Regards
Martin Bank.
67st.marys mansions
maida Avenue
Little Venice
w2 isy England
44-7040111242


> Reply to Yahoo! Autos Ad
> <comfortableautos01@yahoo.com> wrote:I am Martin
> Bank,a procurement agent based in Europe. I have a
> client interested in buying your automobile. What is
> your last price...? Regards Martin Bank.

This is a scam. I'm just glad that I found this site, although I know enough to not have opened an account and given the information to someone else. I'm just mad because we really do want to sell this car. Well, good luck selling yours.

Guest
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 12:37 pm Reply with quote
I too have just heard from this Martin Bank with the same addy, with the same story about a gift for a cousin in Canada, so I'm willing to bet it IS definitely a scam. I'll paste the most recent message I received from him just tonight:

Greetings
Thanks for your response.I am a procurement agent
based in England and my client whom i am representing
is also in England. My client informed me that he is
buying the car to present as a gift to the cousin who
recently married in Canada . This means that the car
will be shipped to Canada.
THE PRICE IS FIRM AT $8,500 USD..CONFIRM
Attach at least three recent pics( include the
interior) of the vehicle so that i will foward it to
my client for evaluation,The pics will make my
discussion with the buyer easier and faster.
Hope all the documents are complete...?
Any accident history......?
Are you the first owner of the vehicle.....?
Why do you want to sell the vehicle....?
My client is responsible for my commission,shipping
and any handling bills.
Looking foward to hearing from you soon so that we can
proceed with the transaction.
Regards
Martin Bank.
67st.marys mansions
maida Avenue
Little Venice
w2 isy England


Shaunna

Display posts from previous:  

All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1
Post new topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum